Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide Announces Honors for Igbo Heroes and Special Allies


Enugu, Nigeria – The Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide has disclosed its plans to honor a distinguished list of Igbo heroes and special allies during the 2023 Igbo Day Celebration. The event is scheduled to take place at the Michael Okpara Square, Independence Layout, Enugu on Thursday, September 29, 2023.

In a statement released by Dr. Chiedozie Alex Ogbonnia, the National Publicity Secretary of Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide, it was revealed that the decision to honor these eminent personalities was reached at a meeting of the National Executive Committee (NEC) held at the Oriental Plaza, Orji, Owerri, Imo State on Thursday, August 24, 2023.

The individuals to be posthumously honored include some of the most iconic figures in Igbo history and Nigerian nationhood. Among them are:

  1. Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe: The father of Nigerian nationalism and the First President of Nigeria.
  2. Maj. Gen. Johnson Thomas Umunnakwe Aguiyi Ironsi: The First Nigerian Military General and the first Nigerian Military Head of State.
  3. Chief Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu: The Head of State of Biafra.
  4. Dr. Alex. Ekwueme: The former Vice President of Nigeria.
  5. Dr. Akanu Ibiam: The former Governor of Eastern Region.
  6. Col. Adekunle Fajuyi: The former Military Governor of the Western Region.
  7. Chief M.I. Okpara: The former Premier of the Eastern Region.

The list also includes other prominent figures who have made significant contributions to the Igbo community and Nigeria as a whole:

  • Gen. Phillip Effiong: Second in Command to Biafran Head of State.
  • Chief N.U. Akpan: Former Secretary of the Eastern Region.
  • Chief Dennis Osadebay: Former Premier of the Mid West of Nigeria.
  • Chief Sam Mbakwe: Former Governor of the Old Imo State.
  • Dr. K. O. Mbadiwe
  • Professor Chinua Achebe
  • His Eminence, Alhaji Ado Bayero: The former Emir of Kano.
  • Chief Adeniran Ogunsanya
  • Mrs. Miriam Babangida
  • Sen. Francis Ellah
  • Mazi Mbonu Ojike
  • Chief C. C. Onoh
  • Chief Mbazulike Amechi
  • Chief Mrs. Margaret Ekpo
  • Chief Emmanuel Chinwenwo Aguma
  • HM Eze S. N. Woluchem
  • Justice Charles Dadi Onyeama
  • Chief Richard Ihetu (Dick Tiger)

The Chairman of the Central Planning Committee for the 2023 Igbo Day, Professor Fred O. Eze, announced that the event will be chaired by the renowned Igbo philanthropist, Prince Engr. Arthur Eze (Ozoigbondu).

The President General of Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide, Chief Engr. Dr. Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu, emphasized that these posthumous awards are a testament to the Igbo people’s commitment to excellence, gratitude, and preserving their rich history. He noted that these honors aim to inspire and motivate both the families of the awardees and future generations.

To facilitate these honors, Ohanaeze Ndigbo has established a Committee on Honors Award and Special Duties, led by Chief Dr. E. C. Iwuanyanwu and Secretary Chief Okey Nwadinobi. Other committee members include prominent individuals from Igbo land.

The President General also highlighted the organization’s efforts to establish regional headquarters around the world, strengthening the connection between the Igbo diaspora and their homeland.

Finally, Chief Engr. Dr. Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu reiterated his commitment to advocating for the release of Mazi Nnamdi Kanu and outlined his vision for peace and development in the South East of Nigeria.

The NEC expressed its admiration for Chief Iwuanyanwu’s leadership and passed a vote of confidence in him, praying for the continued grace upon his life.

The 2023 Igbo Day Celebration promises to be a historic event, celebrating the enduring legacy of these distinguished Igbo figures and reinforcing the bonds of the Igbo community worldwide.

Posted in:


Leave a Reply